Middle School Reading Standards (ELA 1)

Middle school students will work toward mastering the following reading standards:

Standard 1: Building and Monitor Understanding

Performance Indicators:

  • Cite text to show understanding
  • Cite text to make inferences
  • Literal meaning
  • Figurative meaning
  • Word choice analysis

Standard 2: Analyze Central Idea, Theme, and Character Development

Performance Indicators:

  • Theme/central idea
  • Development of theme/central idea
  • Summarize a text
  • Analyze character development
  • Cite evidence to support character development analysis

Standard 3: Analyze How Point of View and the Individual Parts or Structure of a Text Contribute to Meaning

Performance Indicators:

  • Text structure analysis (narrative)
  • Text structure analysis (informational)
  • Point of view (narrative)
  • Point of view (informational)

Standard 4: Critique an Argument and Analyze Ideas Across Texts

Performance Indicators:

  • Analyze ideas across texts (mediums)
  • Critique an argument
  • Analyze ideas across texts with different authors

Adapted from: http://corestandards.org/ela

Download the Reading Standards poster

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.