Special Committee for Facility Planning to Meet Monday

Thu, 02/25/2016 - 4:57pm

The Special Board Committee for Facility Planning will host its first meeting on Monday, February 29, 2016 at 7 p.m. at the Mellon Administrative Center. Community members are invited to attend and provide public comment as part of the agenda. 

The Board of Education recently formed the committee to provide recommendations on a long term facility plan. The committee consists of two tiers: Tier One consists of faculty and staff from the District. The charge of this committee is to identify needs for capacity and programming at the elementary, middle and high school levels. Tier Two consists of representatives from elected bodies of local government, the business community, and at large community members. The charge of the Tier Two Committee is to review recommendations from Tier One, and based on this information provide recommendations to the Board of Education in the following areas:  location of facilities, collaborations/partnerships with other public entities in the Champaign Unit 4 District, and finance/referendum schedule. Tier Two Committee membership is listed below. 

Meetings will be recorded and available on the District's Vimeo Channel. Ongoing information on the work of the committee will be made available on the District website


Board of Education:  Chris Kloeppel and Amy Armstrong
City of Champaign:  Paul Faraci and Will Kyles
Champaign Park District:  Tim McMahon and Craig Hayes
Village of Savoy:  R. Dee Shonkwiler
MTD:  Brad Diel
Champaign County Chamber of Commerce:  Laura Weis
Economic Development Council:  Craig Rost
Black Chamber of Commerce:  To Be Announced
At Large Members:  Sam Banks, Laura Berg, Luz Murillo, Alan Nudo, Jewell White
Facilitator:  Steve Carter