Unit 4 Art Department Earns State Honor

Thu, 08/22/2019 - 11:12am

Champaign Unit 4 Schools earned the 2019 Art Education Program of the Year honor as selected by the Illinois Art Education Association (IAEA). Unit 4 will receive its award at the 2019 IAEA Conference, held Nov. 22 at the Q Center in St. Charles, Ill.

Champaign Unit 4 art teachers balance being practicing artists and excellent art educators. The program currently features 21 art teachers with a combined 213 years of service to Unit 4 students. 

Unit 4 art teachers designed their own professional development specific to their content area and collaborated with community institutions to ensure professional growth. Most of these professional developments were peer-led, spotlighting the unique talents of Unit 4’s art educators. Their willingness to work together to align K-12 curriculum provides equitable experiences to all students and ensures a challenging and culturally relevant art experience for Champaign’s youth.

“We are ecstatic to receive the highest level of recognition from our state’s professional organization,” stated Unit 4’s art department in reaction to the honor. “We pride ourselves on our collaboration to ensure the students of Champaign schools receive an equitable and high quality arts education from kindergarten through 12th grade.”

Current Unit 4 Art Teachers include Lucy Christianson, Elizabeth Chong, Carol-Lynn Comparetto, Josh Doniek, Ravyn Drone, Melissa Farley, Scott Fernsberg, Stacey Gross, Melissa Hahn, Holly Hummel, Amy Johnson, Jill Kjorlein, Amy Lozar, Michael McLoughlin, John Odum, Emily Pawlicki, Shannon Percoco, Priscilla Putman, Enrika Stulpinaite-Maldonado, Grant Thomas, Lolita Zwettler.

The IAEA is the premier provider of professional development and grants for art, design, and media educators in Illinois, annually serving over a thousand educators and their students through its programs. It annually recognizes excellence in the fields of art, design, and media education through a rigorous and competitive statewide awards program.

Pictured in Photo

Front Row (kneeling, L to R): Stacey Gross, Ravyn Drone, Lucy Christianson

2nd Row: Jill Kjorlien, Michael McLoughlin, Emily Pawlicki, Enrika Stulpinaite-Maldonado

3rd Row: Shannon Percoco, Melissa Hahn, Carol-Lynn Comparetto, Holly Hummel, Melissa Farley, Lolita Zwettler, Priscilla Putnam

Back Row: Josh Doniek, John Odum, Grant Thomas, Amy Johnson, Amy Lozar, Scott Fernsberg

Not Pictured: Elizabeth Chong