Three Unit 4 students named National Merit Scholarship finalists

Wed, 02/12/2020 - 12:26pm

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced three Champaign Unit 4 students as part of approximately 15,000 finalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Two of the three district honorees attend Centennial High School (Anushka Agrawal, Min-Seung Kang) and one attends Central High School (Davin Yoo).

These high school seniors will receive a Certificate of Merit and also have an opportunity at one of approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth over $31 million. The winners of the Merit Scholarship awards are chosen from the finalist group based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments -- without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference. A variety of information is used to evaluate those in the finalist group, including the finalist's academic record, the high school official's written recommendation, information about the student's activities and leadership, and the finalist's own essay.

The finalists will be notified between March and mid-June if they have been selected to receive a Merit Scholarship award. 


Anushka Agrawal                       Min-Seung Kang                        Davin Yoo