Twenty-Five Unit 4 Students Recognized in Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Writing Contest

 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Writing Contest Winners
Wed, 01/23/2013 - 4:42pm

Twenty-five Unit 4 students have been recognized for their winning and honorable mention contributions to the 11th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Essay Contest sponsored by the University of Illinois Center for Education in Small Urban Communities. 

This year, the contest saw more than 200 submissions from area students. Awards will be presented during the Martin Luther King Community Celebration on January 26, 2013. The ceremony will take place from 10 a.m.-1:00 p.m. at the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts where all the Winners and Honorable Mention Award recipients will be recognized. 

Congratulations to the following winners from Unit 4:



  • Gage Brown, Stratton 
  • Maria Heller, Stratton 
  • Charles Hong, Washington 
  • Keondra Howell, Washington 
  • Angelynn Huang, GH 
  • Kayla Israel, Washington 
  • Mayahuel Malik, Stratton 
  • Gloria Park, Stratton 
  • Grace Song, Stratton 

Honorable Mention: 

  • Shivang Bhaskar, Washington 
  • Lihi Catriel, Stratton 
  • Navina Mylarassu, Washington 
  • Dayoung Nam, Stratton 
  • Preethi Saravanan, Washington 
  • Ethan Simpson-Palmer, Stratton 

Middle School


  • Bailee Bui, Jefferson 
  • Jasmine Dandridge, Jefferson 
  • Haemin Mun, Jefferson 
  • Dylan Somers, Edison 

Honorable Mention: 

  • Ali Fadl-Alla, Jefferson 
  • Kaitlin Ellis, Jefferson 
  • Samone Pierson, Jefferson 
  • Bailee Schweighart, Jefferson 

High School


  • Derrion Herman, Centennial 

Honorable Mention: 

  • Eusnik Na, Centennial