Central High School Town Hall Panelists Announced

Thu, 09/19/2013 - 9:58am
Champaign Community Unit School District #4 Board of Education and Administration will host a Town Hall Meeting to discuss the possible sites for a new Central High School on Monday, September 30 from 6:00-8:00 p.m. at the Mellon Administrative Center. 
The Town Hall Meeting will feature a panel of volunteer community members who will help to foster meaningful discussion around this topic. Superintendent Dr. Judy Wiegand will give a brief introduction and overview of the work done so far in the Future Facilities process, as well as an overview of the current conditions of Central High School. Board of Education members will be present, but will not run the meeting in order to encourage organic discussion amongst the panelists.
Attendees at the Town Hall will be able to submit written questions to moderator Amanda Porterfield of WCIA 3 News. Participants will also be able to submit questions to the panel via the District’s Facebook and Twitter accounts or submit questions via email to Community Relations Coordinator Stephanie Stuart at stuartst@champaignschools.org. Questions will be selected based on relevancy to the discussion and the panel will discuss as many community questions as possible during the allotted time. 
Volunteer Community Member Panelists will include:
• Alejandra Aguero – Assistant Director of Graduate Admissions, University of Illinois College of Business
• Patricia Avery – President, NAACP Champaign County
• Imani Bazzell – Director of At Promise...of Success
• Byron Clark – Sales Manager, Human Kinetics
• Bruce Knight – Planning & Development Director, City of Champaign
• Dan McCall – President, Bricklayers Local #8 of Illinois
• Angie Patton – Marketing Coordinator at the University of Illinois, Edison Middle School PTSA President, and Central High School Parent 
• Bob Porter – Architect 
• Phil Van Ness – Attorney, former Champaign Board of Education member
• Joe Williams – Principal, Central High School