Champaign Unit 4 Gives Thanks to Board of Education

Thu, 11/14/2013 - 8:35am
Champaign Unit 4 School District will recognize the members of its Board of Education on November 15 as part of School Board Members Day in Illinois. Unit 4 is joining other districts across the state to thank these community volunteers for their commitment and contributions to our public schools.
Champaign Schools extends our thanks to the following Board of Education members: 
Laurie Bonnett
Jamar Brown
Ileana Saveley
Lynn Stuckey
Scott MacAdam
Kristine Chalifoux
Kerris Lee
School Board members serve countless hours working to make public education the best it can be for every child. In a climate of change and challenge, they develop policies and make tough decisions on educational and social issues that affect the entire community and the lives of individual students. They bear responsibility and oversight in Unit 4 for an annual budget of $152 million, 9,700 students in pre-K to grade 12, more than 1,400 employees, and 18 campuses. 
Unit 4 School Board members will be recognized at the School Board Meeting on November 18, 2013 at 6 p.m. Seven Raspberry Pi micro-computers will be donated to Kenwood Elementary School in honor of each of the seven school board members. Kenwood is refocusing its school theme this year to center on Technology & Literacy for the Community (TLC).