Middle School Science Standards

The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) are K-12 science content standards. These standards give lcoal educators the flexibility to design classroom learning experiences that stimulate students' interests in science and prepares them for college, careers, and citizenship.

Standard 1: Disciplinary Core Ideas

These core ideas build on each other as students progress through grade levels and are grouped into the following four domains:

Performance indicators

  • Physical Science
  • Life Science
  • Earth & Space Science
  • Engineering

Standard 2: Science & Engineering Practices

The practices describe behaviors that scientists engage in as they investigate and build models and theories about the natural world and the key set of engineering practices that engineers use as they design and build models and systems. These practices include:

Performance Indicators

  • Ask questions and define problems,
  • Develop and use models,
  • Plan and carry out investigations,
  • Analyze and interpret data,
  • Use mathematics and computational thinking,
  • Construct explanations and design solutions,
  • Engage in an argument from evidence, and
  • Obtain, evaluate, and communicate information.

Standard 3: Crosscutting Concepts

Crosscutting Concepts help students explore connections across the four domains of science, including physical science, life science, earth & space science, and engineering design. These concepts include:

Performance Indicators:

  • Patterns
  • Cause and Effect
  • Scale, Proportion, and Quantity
  • Systems and System Models
  • Energy and Matter
  • Structure and Function
  • Stability and Change

Download the Science Standards poster

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.