ISBE Awards

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has honored 490 Illinoisans for their extraordinary contributions to education across the state through its annual Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year Awards. Among them are three educators from Champaign Unit 4 Schools. Randi Wenzel, Teacher at Novak Academy received a Special Recognition Award; Timothy Arie, Teacher Aide, Young Adult Program (YAP), received an Excellence Award and Tabatha Wenzel, Secretary, Centennial HS, received a Special Recognition Award.

Since 1970, the Illinois State Board of Education has sponsored the Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year program to honor educators who have made significant contributions to our state's public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. Awards are presented in seven categories: classroom teachers, early career educators (teachers 1-4 years), school administrators, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteers, and teams. All awardees will be honored at an annual banquet in the Spring.